Skip to content

Boundary reviews and changes

Parliamentary constituency boundaries 

The independent Boundary Commission for England (BCE) have redrawn the map of constituencies. The BCE submitted their final report to Parliament by 1 July 2023.

For more information, please go to our page on the 2023 Review of Parliamentary Constituencies.

Cornwall Council boundaries

The boundaries of all Cornwall Council electoral divisions changed at the 2021 elections, as the number of councillors reduced from 123.

There are now 87 divisions, each electing one Cornwall Councillor.

These changes followed a review in 2016 to 2018 by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE).  Details of the changes were in the LGBCE report showing the final recommendations for Cornwall

Our interactive mapping shows the new boundaries for the May 2021 elections

Town and Parish Council boundaries

The LGBCE also changed parish arrangements in the following areas from the 2021 elections:

  • Bodmin Town Council
  • Bude-Stratton Town Council
  • Camborne Town Council
  • Carn Brea Parish Council
  • Dobwalls and Trewidland Parish Council
  • Egloshayle Parish Council
  • Falmouth Town Council
  • Hayle Town Council
  • Helston Town Council
  • Kenwyn Parish Council
  • Launceston Town Council
  • Liskeard Town Council
  • Ludgvan Parish Council
  • Luxulyan Parish Council
  • Newquay Town Council
  • Penryn Town Council
  • Pentewan Valley Parish Council
  • Penzance Town Council
  • Perranzabuloe Parish Council
  • Redruth Town Council
  • St Agnes Parish Council
  • St Austell Town Council
  • St Clement Parish Council
  • St Ives Town Council
  • St Stephen-in-Brannel Parish Council
  • Saltash Town Council
  • Torpoint Town Council
  • Treverbyn Parish Council
  • Truro City Council

The changes for the parish areas above were in paragraphs 208 to 238 of the report. Further details are on the LGBCE website.

Further changes were made to some parish areas in December 2020 by a Cornwall Council Community Governance Review. As a result, the LGBCE agreed to minor changes to electoral division boundaries in these affected areas in January 2021.

We also reviewed our polling districts and polling stations to fit the new boundaries. This means that some people vote at a different polling station than before.

We published a new register of electors on 1 March 2021 based on the final electoral arrangements for the 2021 elections.

Need help?

Most issues can be resolved online, it's the quickest and most convenient way to get help.

Use our contact us form

Your feedback is important to us

Help us improve our service