Skip to content

Common Land and Town and Village Greens Applications Accepted

Cornwall Council is the registration authority for common land and town and village greens in Cornwall.

Before 1 October 2008 we worked under legislation brought about by the Commons Registration Act 1965. Under this legislation there is approximately 25,000 acres of common land in about 300 register units. This equates to 3% of the land in Cornwall, equalling the 3% of land in England registered as common land.

From 1 October 2008 a variety of new measures became available.  These were largely for making applications to amend the commons and greens registers under Part 1 of the Commons Act 2006. In most cases a fee will be payable. 

Please see the fee table for revised fees from 1st January 2024.

Applications Accepted



Hayle and Gwinear-Gwithian









St Agnes

St Buryan

St Gennys

St Just

St Keverne

St Mewan

Further information

  • Defra (please note this is a different web site address from the town and village greens web link)
  • Open Spaces Society

Commons and Village Green application representations Privacy Notice

Need help?

Most issues can be resolved online, it's the quickest and most convenient way to get help.

Your feedback is important to us

Help us improve our service