Skip to content

Cllr Linda Taylor is re-elected as leader of Cornwall Council

Cornwall Council Leader cllr Linda Taylor

Cllr Linda Taylor has been re-elected as Leader of Cornwall Council at the authority’s Annual Meeting in Truro today.

Cllr Taylor, who first became leader following the elections in 2021, was elected unopposed.

She announced that there will be one change to her Cabinet in the year ahead, with the current portfolio holder for customers, Cllr Connor Donnithorne, standing down at the end of the month.

He will be replaced in the role by Cllr Martin Worth.

The meeting, held at County Hall (Lys Kernow), also saw Cllr Pauline Giles re-elected as Chairman of the council, and Cllr Jordan Rowse returned as Vice Chairman for next 12 months.

Reports from each of the scrutiny committees at the council were heard, and two motions were debated; one calling for support for ‘breaking the cycle of poverty, ill health and worklessness’, and a second calling for ‘support for housing justice’.

Speaking after the meeting, Cllr Taylor said: “I am delighted to have been elected as leader once more, it is a true honour to lead this council, and I am grateful for the support I have received.

“I am so proud of the work we have done as an administration since our election in 2021, and we have been working so hard to deliver on the manifesto pledges we stood on three years ago.

“We have been clear in our determination to make Cornwall a place where everyone can start well, live well and age well, and we have taken great strides towards that target already.

“We will now continue to do all we can to ensure we deliver the services our residents rely on while providing value for money for our taxpayers.”

You can watch today’s meeting back via our webcast service.


Posted 21 May, 2024

Your feedback is important to us

Help us improve our service