Safeguarding Adults Board

The Cornwall and Isles of Scilly Safeguarding Adults Board (SAB) meet four times a year. 

The Safeguarding Adults Board is responsible for protecting adults from abuse, reducing the risk of abuse, and supporting people to stop abuse where it happens.  There are five sub groups: the quality and improvement sub group, learning and development sub group, communications and engagement sub group, the safeguarding adult review subgroup and a missing and exploitation joint sub group.

Continue reading

The Care Act 2014 states that one of the duties of Safeguarding Adults Boards is to develop and publish a business plan which sets out how to achieve their objectives and how their member and partner agencies will contribute to this plan. The Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly SAB has a 3 year   strategic plan that describes the priorities the Board has set out to deliver.

The Safeguarding Adults Board is responsible for writing policies and guidance for partner organisations to follow and for carrying out a Safeguarding Adult Review (SAR) when an adult at risk dies or has experienced serious neglect or abuse and there is a concern that agencies could have worked more effectively to protect the adult.

Members of the Safeguarding Adults Board are from a wide range of organisations, including charities, NHS, local government, and the Police. The Board also benefits from information shared by the  Police, Probation Service and the Prison Service who lead in the Multi-Agency Public Protection Arrangements which manages the risks posed by violent and sexual offenders living in the community. You can find out more about the work of the Board by viewing a short film and by reading the annual report.

To coincide with National Safeguarding Adults Week in November, the SAB Communications and Engagement sub group produced a poster to raise awareness of the role of the SAB  and the Safer Cornwall Partnership amongst staff in partner agencies and organisations. 

Lunch and Learn sessions - book now for January

In January we will be hosting four Lunch and Learn sessions which will be delivered by the Fire Service. 

The focus of these will be raising awareness of the Living Safe and Well programme and to promote a greater understanding of the work of Fire in supporting vulnerable adults at risk of fire or hoarding.

The sessions are available to all multi-agency staff and members of partner organisations; places will be allocated on a first come first served basis booked through the Eventbrite.

Friday January 17th


Alverne Room  St John’s Hall Penzance TR18 2QW

eventbrite tickets

Thursday January 9th  

12pm – 1pm

Council Chamber  New County Hall Truro TR1 3AY

eventbrite tickets

Friday January 10th


GW03 Dolcoath Avenue   Camborne TR14 8SX

eventbrite tickets

Friday January 24th  


Room 2 Chy Trevail  Bodmin PL31 2QN

eventbrite tickets

Delegates are invited to bring their lunch, drinks will be available.

The Self-neglect policy and best practice guidance Lunch and Learn sessions to raise awareness of the policy were very popular in November    You can access the  Bitesize Guide and slide presentation that was shared at the events here. 

Making Safeguarding Personal (MSP)

Read an overview for practitioners on Making Safeguarding Personal; a sector led initiative which aims to develop an outcomes focus to safeguarding work and a range of responses to support people to improve or resolve their circumstances. MSP is about engaging with people about the outcomes they want at the beginning and middle of working with them and then the extent to which those outcomes were realised at the end. 

Safeguarding Adults Board Annual Report 2018/19

The Annual Report 2018/19 is now published and available to read here.