Information about Covid19:
Please read our information on how we are supporting residents and businesses, as well as information on affected services.

Area Resource Bases in Cornwall

Some children with special educational needs and/or disabilities (SEND) attend an Area Resource Base (ARB) for their education. These small bases are hosted by twenty primary and secondary schools across Cornwall. ARBs support pupils with more complex special educational needs (SEN) than children and young people with SEN who generally attend mainstream schools. 

Pupils in an ARB benefit from a more individually tailored, specialist provision. This can include small group work and access to more specialist resources and services. One of the many strengths of ARBs is that pupils can still access parts of the mainstream school as well as having more specialist support. As ARBs are spread across the county it means that it is more likely that  children and young people can attend a school which is in, or near to, their local community so that all learners can learn alongside their friends and peers.

Continue reading

You can view details of the admissions process on the admissions to specialist provision page.

Cornwall’s Area Resource Bases are attached to the following Primary and Secondary Schools.

Primary Schools

  • Beacon ACE Academy
  • Bude Junior School 
  • Burraton School, Saltash
  • Camelford School
  • Delaware School
  • Falmouth Primary Academy
  • Mount Charles, St Austell
  • Penryn Primary Academy 
  • St Stephen’s Community Academy, Launceston
  • Tregolls School,Truro
  • Trevithick School, Camborne

Secondary Schools

  • Bodmin Academy (Greenfields)
  • Brannel School, St Stephen, St Austell
  • Budehaven Community School (The ARBour)
  • Cape Cornwall School (Kites)
  • Launceston College (Castle Unit)
  • Liskeard School and Community College
  • Penryn Community College
  • Richard Lander School
  • community school (Trematon Unit)