Chairman and Vice Chairman, Leader and cabinet portfolio holders appointed

Please read our information on how we are supporting residents and businesses, as well as information on affected services.

The new Council Chairman and Vice Chairman and the ten councillors who will make up the Council’s cabinet have been appointed at today’s (25 May 2021) Cornwall Council Annual General Meeting. 

Pauline Giles has been elected as Council Chairman with Jordan Rowse chosen to be the Vice Chairman. 

Linda Taylor will lead the Council with David Harris confirmed as her deputy and the portfolio holder for Resources.  The other cabinet portfolio holders are: - 

  • Andy Virr  Adults and Public Health.   
  • Martyn Alvey - Environment and Climate.   
  • Stephen Rushworth - Economy.   
  • Olly Monk - Housing and Planning.  
  • Philip Desmonde - Transport 
  • Barbara Ellenbroek - Children and Families.  
  • Carol Mould  Neighbourhoods.  
  • Richard Pears - Customers. 

Council Leader Linda Taylor said: We have appointed an excellent mix of skills, experience and knowledge from a diverse and enthusiastic group of councillors who all who have serving Cornwall at their heart.” 

“Our Cabinet is there to serve you and our priority is first and foremost to the residents of Cornwall.” 

We look forward to positive working relationships with anyone who has the residents of Cornwall as their priority and making our beautiful Duchy a better place to live, work and grow up in over the coming years.” 



Your feedback is important to us

Help us improve our service