2014 European Parliamentary Election

European Parliamentary Election - Thursday 22nd May 2014

The European election was held on 22 May 2014, to elect six Members of the European Parliament for the South West Region.

Continue reading

MEPs are elected under a proportional representation system (known as the D'Hondt method).  In the UK you have one vote to elect all of your MEPs. 

There are 6 seats for the South West Region. Each political party puts forward a list of candidates called a 'regional list' and you vote for one of these lists or for an independent candidate.

Each political party or independent candidate is then allocated a number of MEP seats according to their share of the vote across the South West Region.

Returning officers

Paul Morris of the Borough of Poole is the Regional Returning Officer for the South West Region, who had overall responsibility for the election in the region. Regional Returning Officers in Great Britain are appointed by an Order made by the Secretary of State.

Andrew Kerr of Cornwall Council was the Local Returning Officer responsible for running the election in Cornwall. He was responsible for administering the voting process including issuing postal votes, running polling stations and counting the votes cast in Cornwall.

Further information