Community safety on the agenda at Launceston Community Network Panel meeting

Residents in Launceston and the surrounding parishes are invited along to the next Launceston Community Network Panel on Thursday 21 March to discuss issues that affect them and where they live.

Iain Mackelworth, Cornwall Council’s Acting Head of Investment & Growth will provide the panel with an overview of the council’s Investment Programme, with a specific focus on workspace development.

Continue reading

Devon and Cornwall Police Inspector Lynden Hughes will provide an update on local policing and crime matters.

There will also be an introduction from Alex Arthur, Data Analyst for Community Safety, and Lucy Alison, Community Safer Officer for East Cornwall about the opportunity for the Panel to hold an awareness workshop about community safety issues.

The meeting is taking place in the Guildhall in Launceston Town Hall on Thursday March 21, from 7pm. 

Read the agenda for the meeting and find out more about the panel 

Community network panels are an opportunity for members of the public to engage with what’s happening in their local area, to speak to their local Town, Parish and Cornwall Councillors and shape the future of where they live.

The Launceston Community Network Panel meets quarterly to discuss matters that affect the local area and to progress these by working in partnership with Cornwall Council and its partners, including town and parish councils, the voluntary and community sector, and the police and health services.  Some of the areas that community networks focus on include anti-social behaviour, economic development, the environment, community planning, regeneration, conservation, community safety, transport and highways issues. 

Launceston Community Network Panel includes all Cornwall Councillors for the area and representatives of Launceston Town Council and the Parishes in the community network: Altarnun, Boyton, Egloskerry, Laneast, Lawhitton, Lewannick, Lezant, North Hill, North Petherwin, South Petherwin, St Stephen by Launceston, St Thomas the Apostle, Stoke Climsland, Trewen and Werrington.

The meetings are open to the public and all are welcome to attend.