Information about Covid19:
Please read our information on how we are supporting residents and businesses, as well as information on affected services.

Climate emergency on the agenda at Falmouth and Penryn community meeting: July 2, 7pm

The climate emergency will be on the agenda at the meeting of the Falmouth and Penryn Community Network Panel next week.

Residents of The meeting takes place on Tuesday 2 July, between 7pm and 9pm, at Tremayne Hall, Lemon Hill, Mylor Bridge, TR11 5NA.

Continue reading

There are a number of parishes in the community network area which have declared a climate emergency and at the last Community Network Panel meeting, parishes identified climate change and waste and recycling as its priorities.

Cornwall Council’s Waste Policy and Projects Team Leader, Paul Martin will be outlining Cornwall Council’s declaration on the climate change emergency and detailing the work on the action plan to date and planned recommendations. 

A representative from Good Companions will also be giving an overview on what parishes in Cornwall have been doing and how residents can become involved.

Paul Martin will also speak about the Council’s waste collection plans including information on the proposed new waste and street cleansing contract.

Cornwall Councillor John Bastin, Chair of the Falmouth and Penryn Community Network Panel, said: “The Falmouth and Penryn Community Network Panel meeting is a great opportunity for residents to find out more about local issues and to have their say. We would encourage everyone to come along.”

The Falmouth and Penryn Community Network Panel meets every two months to discuss matters that affect the local community and to agree priorities that can be delivered by Cornwall Council and other agencies including the police and health services. Some of the areas that community networks focus on include anti-social behaviour, economic development, the environment, community planning, regeneration, conservation, community safety, transport and highway issues.

The panel comprises all nine Cornwall Councillors for the area and representatives of the nine parishes in the Falmouth and Penryn Community Network - Budock, Constantine, Falmouth, Mabe, Mawnan, Mylor, Penryn, Perranarworthal and St Gluvias.  

More information about the Community Network Panels and dates for future meetings can be found on the Cornwall Council Community Networks webpage.