Highway maintenance and strengthening community networks on the agenda for the West Penwith Community Network Panel meeting

Residents of the West Penwith Community Network Panel area are invited to the November meeting of the West Penwith Community Network Panel. Items on the agenda will include highway maintenance, strengthening community networks, local police liaison and Coastal Community Teams.

The meeting will take place on Thursday 16 November 2017, between 7.00pm and 8.30pm, in St John's Hall, Alverton Street, Penzance.

Continue reading

James Hardy, Cornwall Council Community Link Officer for West Penwith, will provide an update on Coastal Community Teams and their local projects as well as providing a briefing on Cornwall Council’s Cabinet decision on 6 September to strengthen engagement with local communities and give them a greater voice through Community Network Panels. The briefing will include information on empowering panels by giving them more of a say on important local issues.

In addition officers from Cornwall Council’s Highways & Environment team will be attending the meeting to provide an update on highways maintenance. An officer from Devon and Cornwall Police will also be attending the meeting to discuss the establishment of the Police Liaison group.

The Panel will have an opportunity to ask any questions and give feedback. 

Cornwall Councillor Sue Nicholas, Chair of the West Penwith Community Network Panel, said: “The Community Network Panel is a great opportunity for Town and Parish representatives alongside local residents to find out more, and ask questions about  issues on a local level. I welcome everyone to come along and be part of the discussion.”

The West Penwith Community Network Panel meets bi-monthly to discuss matters that affect the local area and to progress these by working in partnership with Cornwall Council and its partners, including town & parish councils, the voluntary and community sector, and the police and health services.

The panel comprises all nine Cornwall Councillors for the area and representatives of the 15 Town and Parish Councils in the West Penwith Community Network - Ludgvan, Madron, Marazion, Morvah, Paul, Penzance, Perranuthnoe, Sancreed, Sennen, St. Buryan, St. Hilary, St. Just In Penwith, St. Levan, St. Michael's Mount and Zennor.

More information about the Community Network Panels and dates for future meetings  can be found on the Cornwall Council Community Networks webpage

Story posted 8 November 2017