Common Land and Town and Village Greens

Cornwall Council is the registration authority for common land and town and village greens in Cornwall.

Prior to 1 October 2008 we worked under legislation brought about by the Commons Registration Act 1965. Under this legislation there is approximately 25,000 acres of common land in about 300 register units, and 55 registered units of town or village greens. This equates to 3% of the land in Cornwall, equalling the 3% of land in England registered as common land.

Continue reading

Section 6 - Creation of a new right of common:

Section 8 - Apportionment of rights of common:

Section 11 - Re-allocation of attached rights:

Section 12 - Transfer of a right held in gross

Section 19 - Correction of a register:

Schedule 2(2) - Non-registration of common land:

Schedule 2(4) - Waste land of a manor not registered as common land:

Schedule 2(6) and (7) - Buildings and other land wrongly registered as common land:

Schedule 3 - Transitional and Historic Provisions:

Further information may be obtained from Defra (please note this is a different web site address from the town and village greens web link), the Open Spaces Society and the Commons Re-registration web sites.