Operational Assessment

As a public sector organisation, our Directorate undergoes a number of external and sector lead assessments to ensure the delivery of efficient and effective services.

This page is designed to provide you with information about those assessments.

Continue reading

View our latest Operational Assessment report from our visit in 2016:

Cornwall Fire and Rescue Service Operational Assessment Fire Peer Challenge Final Report 2016 

Quick links to further information about the Operational Assessment:

Fire and Rescue Service’s have a strong and long standing commitment to learning from each other and sharing good practice, whether that’s from an operational or business perspective.

The OpA is a framework developed by the Local Government Association (LGA) operating in partnership with the Chief Fire Officers Association (CFOA). 

View the Operational Tool Kit

As part of this Sector led improvement, CFOA developed the concept of Operational Assessment (OpA) in 2009. This process has a strong operational focus and involves us producing a self assessment and then an external peer challenge.

This process is designed to ensure there is a whole look at how a Fire and Rescue Authority (FRA) leads, prioritises and delivers its services functions of prevention, protection and response in line with its understanding of community risk.

The OpA process is designed to form a structured and consistent basis to drive continuous improvement within the Fire and Rescue Service, and contributes to the LGA’s approach to self-regulation and improvement which aims to help councils and FRAs strengthen local accountability and revolutionise the way they evaluate and improve services.

Assessments allow us to establish a clear understanding against the criteria and benchmark ourselves against other fire and rescue services within the UK.

The key part of the review process is the production of a self-assessment Involving a range of staff and partners from across the service. The self-assessment is an open and honest appraisal of where we are across the seven key areas of assessment:

  • Community Risk Management
  • Prevention
  • Protection
  • Prepardness
  • Response
  • Health, Safety and Wellbeing
  • Training and Development

Through this process we can demonstrate how we are continuing to drive our own improvement, where we will develop an action plan to address recommendations.